Coin Flip for some of the Great Houses, a submod attempt

Browse, publish and discuss user made sub-mods here

Coin Flip for some of the Great Houses, a submod attempt

PostPosted by ICU812 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 19:56

I might find myself in a minority, but I like the coin flip for the Targaryans. It helps give the dynasty some personality, and maintains it across a whole game. But why should the other Great Houses(and some of the smaller ones :)) be left out of it?

My idea is to branch out and make coinflips for all major dynasties and some of the smaller ones as well. These coinflips will give these characters a variety of flags and traits that can keep affecting them even into later life(i.e., don't make it easy for a Stark to lose their honor).

Now, I'm not asking for anyone to do this for me. This is a submod I'll be working on in my own time. I am, however, asking for ideas as I go through the process. I'm fairly new to event modding, but I've been modding characters, histories and save files for years. My main intentions with this submod, at this point, are:

1. Have self-contained event files for the coin flips of the major dynasties in GoT. Ideally, these will not fiddle with any other file besides 00_scripted_triggers and birth_events.

2. Have these coin flips be lore friendly. No Genius coin flips for the Starks :lol: .

3. Design it, from the get-go, to work with Congenital Overhaul by LancelotLoire. I can't see getting some of these flips to go without the expanded trait options this submod provides.

4. Not have the coin flips overpower any one dynasty or make playing as a non-coin-flip dynasty too much harder.

5. Have the event files work in a template fashion so their logic is easy to follow(much like the current coin flip events, thank you original mod devs).

ideas so far(not set in stone. Open to suggestions):
Starks: Pretty much this. Seems like a good starting point http://citadel.prophpbb.com/post106475.html#p106475